Understanding Florida’s Minimum Mandatory Sentencing Guidelines
Penalties for drug crimes in Florida vary depending on the type and quantity of drug. In many cases, it doesn’t take much to boost a drug possession or possession with intent to distribute charges to drug trafficking. Employing the minimum mandatory sentences, those convicted of a drug crime can face very strict penalties.
At The Law Office of Gustavo E. Frances, P.A., I defend clients charged with drug trafficking and other drug crimes. Understanding Florida’s strict minimum mandatory sentences, I work hard to build a strong defense for my clients.
Drug Trafficking Charges Are Based On Quantity, Not Intent
Florida law assigns penalties for drug crimes based on the type and quantity of illegal or prescription drug. Even if an individual had no intention of selling drugs, he or she could be charged with drug trafficking based on the amount involved. If convicted, an individual faces a mandatory minimum prison sentence.
Mandatory Minimum Sentences For Trafficking In Florida
Below are examples of mandatory minimum sentences for drug crimes in Florida:
- Cannabis (marijuana): Possession of 25 up to 2,000 lbs. yields mandatory minimum prison sentence of three years and $25,000 in fines.
- Cocaine: Possession of 28 up to 200 grams yields mandatory minimum prison sentence of three years and $50,000 in fines.
- Morphine, oxycodone, hydrocodone, or heroin: Possession of four up to 14 grams yields a mandatory minimum prison sentence of three years and $50,000 in fines.
- Methamphetamine (meth): Possession of 14 up to 28 grams yields a mandatory minimum prison sentence of three years and $50,000 in fines.
Penalties increase when the amount of drug increases. Contact my law office if you have questions about specific sentences relating to your drug arrest or drug-trafficking offense.
Before You Talk To The Police
Remember: The police are not your friends. Before you give out information about your case, exercise your right to remain silent and your right to an attorney. By talking to the police, you could end up giving up your bargaining chip.
If you have been charged with drug trafficking, the police may assume you have connections to others in the drug trade. They may try to convince you to give out information and even claim to “help you out” by providing them with information. But remember, the police do not have the power to negotiate your charges or sentence. Talk to an attorney before talking to the police.
Always Accessible. Call For A Free Confidential Consultation.
If you are facing first-degree felony drug charges, do not wait to meet with Gustavo E. Frances. Call for an appointment and a free consultation toll free at 954-533-2756. I am available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Contact Me For A Flat-Fee Divorce
For legal representation in any dissolution of marriage matter, please reach out to me online or call me toll free at 954-533-2756.